Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas – Part 4

(Go to Part 3)

The one day of the week that I have the opportunity to sleep in and I can’t sleep. Ugh. Well, at least now I can wrap up this darn report. At this point I should just call it a photo essay instead of a race report. There really wasn’t much “racing” going on for me that day.

Anyway, I think right here I’m a little over halfway done with the race. I had to take a photo of this restaurant because it combines two yummy things… Chinese food and donuts!

The guy in the plaid shirt was handing out free beer. (No, I didn’t have any.)

This being Vegas, of course I had to get a photo of this Little White Chapel. The sign says they have a 24 hr drive up wedding window!

A little further along, I found another chapel at the corner of these romantically named streets… awww.

I got passed by a couple groups of running Elvi before I finally realized what they were pushing…  a set of speakers blasting Elvis songs. Guess it would have helped if I didn’t have my iPod on.

Now we’re back on The Strip.

At first I couldn’t figure out why I took this photo… But if you look carefully at the guy in the white shirt… it’s my first ever joggler sighting!

The Fashion Show Mall.

The guy in the gold suit did an awesome job directing traffic. He was still enthusiastic even after standing out there repeating the same thing for three hours. The split was at about the 10.5 mile mark and I was glad to only be doing the half. Even 2.5 miles seemed like a long way away.

After the split was when we started passing the more elaborately themed hotels again.

These buildings are part of the new CityCenter project… very futuristic looking.

Mandalay Bay is faintly visible in the background behind the New York, New York sign. Not too much farther to go!

It was awesome to see this billboard right before the finish.

Here’s a closer look at the billboard. I think part of why I rank RnR Las Vegas as my second favorite half (number one is Disneyland) is because of all the little (or not so little) touches like this. Even though it’s not aimed at specifically at me, it’s nice to feel like part of something special.

And 3 hours and 42 minutes later, I’m finally done!

I was tired and a little sore, but overall felt better than after run/walking my last half (RnR San Jose). After doing all the usual post-race stuff (photos, snacks, a bit of stretching), I headed back to the hotel to shower, pack, and grab some lunch before heading to the airport.

I really enjoyed this race and had a fantastic time during my short trip out to Las Vegas, although I do wonder how much my opinion was influenced by the fact that I was walking instead of running. Actually, I guess if I had to pick one course for a personal worst time, this was a good choice even though it wasn’t intentional. At least there was a lot to look at during the almost four hours that I spent walking. I definitely recommend at least doing the race once for the experience. If I was still going to be living in Phoenix, I’d consider doing it again. But now that I’m moving to Baltimore I’ll be exploring options for East Coast races instead.

2 Responses to “Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas – Part 4”

  1. Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas – Part 3 « Silly Lisa… Says:

    […] (Go to Part 4) Posted in Race Report. 2 Comments » […]

  2. Mica Says:

    I’m glad that you enjoyed your race! Thanks for snapping all the photos so I could see some of the course and runners too.

    Have fun scouting out some good East Coast races. Since you’re in B’more, you should check out the Monument Ave 10K in Richmond. It’s pretty fun and not *too* far away. 🙂


Leave a Reply

