BRCC Frozen Finger 5 Miler

As mentioned in my previous post, I’m up in Baltimore for a week to do some house hunting. Once I figured out the dates of my trip, I looked around online for any local races and found a small one being held by the Baltimore Road Runners Club called the Frozen Finger 5 Miler.

Out of all the seasonally named races I’ve done recently, this was the one that most closely lived up to the name. (It was warm and sunny for Frosty’s Run and the Winter Misery One Miler was definitely not miserable.) After it snowed here in Baltimore on Thursday night, I thought about skipping the race and just sleeping in this morning. But in the end I decided to suck it up and brave the cold weather. I really layered on the clothing… two pairs of pants, two long sleeve shirts and a jacket, and two pairs of gloves. Here’s a photo of everything I wore for the race, minus one glove that accidentally got left behind in the rental car.

The registration fee for the race was only $8 (for non-club members) and included these nice cozy gloves which I wore on top of my cheap Target gloves. I was glad to have this second pair because I probably would have really had frozen fingers without them.

The race was at Druid Hill Park. Maybe after I’ve lived in Baltimore for awhile I’ll stop being so fascinated by snow. But right now I just think the snow makes everything so much prettier. I took these photos after the race.

Originally, the first mile of the course was supposed to go all the way around the lake that’s sort of visible behind the fence in the first photo, but I think it got changed at the last minute because of the snow. I’ve never run in snow before! But most of the roads were clear and I only had to slow down slightly in a couple spots where I was afraid of slipping on the ice. I’m happy to report that 1) I ran the entire five miles… even up some nasty hills, and 2) I didn’t fall!

Before the race I was a little worried because 3.1 miles is the farthest I’ve run since being sick. I figured that I’d just stop and speed walk if I started getting tired. But it turned out that I felt good through the entire five miles. It wasn’t easy, especially on the hills, but I never felt like I wouldn’t be able to finish. In a way, I think the cold actually helped because it numbed some of the usual aches and pains. On the other hand, the cold prevented me from fueling up because it felt like too much effort to reach into my iFitness belt with all the layers I had on.

I took a GU Roctane before the race. (I’ve decided that I really dislike the blueberry pomegranate flavor, although I’ll still keep using it since that’s what they give out at Rock ‘n’ Roll races. But one of these days I’ll have to try the vanilla orange to see if it’s any better.) That probably contributed to how good I felt while running. I try not to use fuel products too much on a regular basis so that I get an extra boost from them on race days. I had another GU gel and some chomps with me, but like I said above I never got around to taking anything else. It probably didn’t matter anyway because 5 miles is a relatively short race. And my last mile was actually my fastest according to my Garmin.

  • Mile 1 – 10:07
  • Mile 2 – 10:17
  • Mile 3 – 10:34
  • Mile 4 – 10:42
  • Mile 5 – 9:42

The last mile was also predominantly downhill. πŸ™‚

No official results yet, but my Garmin shows an average 10:18 pace for 5.06 miles. That’s probably pretty close to the official results because even though the distance is long, I forgot to stop the timer right away after finishing. I had a blueberry bagel afterwards that was really tasty, but a bit hard from sitting out in the cold. My jaw actually started to hurt after awhile from all the effort it took to chew.

I’m encouraged and excited by how easily I’ve been able to ramp up my running again. I hope I’m not taking it too fast, but so far I’ve been relatively injury free which is a good sign. I do have a slight ache in the ball of my right foot, but I think that’s more due to old shoes and insoles than anything else. Last weekend I splurged on custom insoles from Road Runner Sports that are working out well so far. I also ordered a new pair of Saucony ProGrid Hurricane 10s that should be waiting for me in the mail when I get back to Phoenix.

4 Responses to “BRCC Frozen Finger 5 Miler”

  1. RunningLaur Says:

    Very nice that you got to run there! I wouldn’t know what to wear in the cold now – I think living in Phx has ruined me. πŸ™‚

  2. RioRuns Says:

    Great job on the race! You are doing great. As a Southern California girl who moved to Michigan, I first remember how pretty the snow was until about February / March when it got all icy and dirty and just inconvenient. Sounds like a good experience in a town before you move there!

  3. Mica Says:

    I wear my “club” gloves over my running gloves too. (Though it makes me feel like I have gross sausage fingers. Ick.)

    Great job on the race, especially your last mile!

  4. lindsay Says:

    i love trying to see if there are any local races i can run while i’m visiting a town. and i agree – snow makes everything pretty! well, until it turns to brown mushy slush anyway…

    personally i like vanilla orange better. blue pom is OK to me, but not my favorite. i like blue pom better than the new pineapple roctane… gu needs to come out with some sort of chocolate roctane concoction! πŸ™‚

    congrats on the race! hope the house hunting is going well.


Leave a Reply

