Self reflections

My day started off bright and early this morning. I drove down to Road Runner Sports in Tempe for a mock race for Rock ‘n’ Roll AZ. It was a free event and they had GU and Cytomax (the same products that’ll be available on race day) set up at three locations along the eight mile course around Tempe Town Lake. I’ve tried a few sips of Cytomax before, but usually I stick to water during races. Today I did just Cytomax and while it’s good to know that it doesn’t disagree with me, there wasn’t really any noticeable benefit either. I think we had the cool citrus flavor, which I did find refreshing. I’ll probably continue to just stick with my GU gels and chomps, accompanied with water, for the race.

Since I was speed walking, there weren’t many other participants around and I think I took a wrong turn at the end getting back to the store. Based on my Garmin, I walked 8.57 miles in 1:56:44… a 13:37 pace. This is the last long distance walk I’m going to do before RnR AZ. I’m still hoping to finish the race in under 3 hours as my goal, but I’m not sure I can keep up the pace for another five miles. I’ll just do my best and see what happens.

When I got home, I had some fun trying out the camera on my laptop to take a quick pic of my outfit.

At the 5k a couple days ago, I was too warm in a long-sleeved shirt. But today the “race” started early at 7:30am and I was glad to have my new Champion jacket that I picked up at Target for only $17.48. My running wardrobe used to be almost all from Road Runner Sports, but now I’ve got a lot more Champion stuff in the mix.

I was just browsing the Target weekly ad and if you’ve ever thought about trying a Champion sports bra, now’s the time to go pick one up. From now until January 9, they’re on sale for $12. I’m definitely going to go grab a couple more colors.

After lunch I took my mom out to the airport. It was an hour drive each way and on the way home I decided to stop and treat myself with some bubble tea (aka boba tea). I love bubble tea but there’s no place to get it close to my house, which is probably a good thing. Here I am enjoying what’s left of my taro milk tea. If you’re not familiar with bubble tea, those are tapioca pearls at the bottom of the cup.

Then I spent the rest of the day doing laundry, cleaning up the spare closet in preparation for moving, and starting to pack for my upcoming trip to Baltimore. Overall I think I had a very productive day. Now if only I didn’t have to go to work again in the morning…

3 Responses to “Self reflections”

  1. RunningLaur Says:

    Your race outfit is cute, and you’ve got this speedwalking thing down!

  2. Mica Says:

    Your hair is a lot longer than I thought, since you always have it pulled back in a ponytail.

    I love boba! Even though I didn’t find it until I was in college, I still blame it on the Asian genes.

  3. RioRuns Says:

    You’re going to have to share some tips on how to speed walk one of these days. I still don’t know what I’m going to wear to PF Chang.


Leave a Reply

