New Year’s Day 5k


To get the year started off on the right foot, I ran in a New Year’s Day 5k this morning at Papago Park. I took it fairly easy and just treated it like a training run. The race didn’t have chip timing so my official time was 33:24 (10:45 pace), but my Garmin time was 32:57 (10:24 pace).

Other than that, I don’t have much to say about the race itself. It was just a low-key, local event with about 300 people. The weather was cool and sunny, and the course was an almost flat, out-and-back mainly along the canal.

Afterwards I had a fun meet up with RunningLaur and her puppy so I could hand off the box of goodies from the giveaway. I may be joining her for the Sedona Half Marathon, but don’t know for sure yet because I’m waiting to see how things go during my trip to Baltimore and getting ready to move.

It was nice to get my workout done early because I spent the rest of the day playing Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction and finally finished it to 100% completion. All weapons, gold bolts, skill points, everything. I know that probably doesn’t mean anything to most of you, but trust me, it’s a pretty darn good achievement.

So for now, 2010 is off to a great start!

2 Responses to “New Year’s Day 5k”

  1. kilax Says:

    What a great way to start off the New Year! We ran a NY5K one year here in Chicago and it was so much fun. Ha! The weather is just so up and down though!

    Is that a computer game? Sounds interesting!

  2. Self reflections « Silly Lisa… Says:

    […] the 5k a couple days ago, I was too warm in a long-sleeved shirt. But today the “race” started early at 7:30am […]


Leave a Reply

