DUDE

I haven’t mentioned it yet on the blog, but it’s official… I’m moving to Baltimore in February. I’m sad to be leaving Phoenix because I really love it here, but I’m starting to get excited about checking out a new city and I’m ready to embrace the change. Anyway, with my time in Arizona starting to come to an end, my mom and I decided to take advantage of my four-day holiday from work and drive up to the Grand Canyon.

The post title comes from a Ranger Program that we went to about the geology of the Grand Canyon. DUDE is an acronym for how the Grand Canyon was formed… Deposition, Uplifiting, Downcutting, and Erosion. Another fun fact from the talk was that if you take the entire life of the earth and stuff it into a year, with the earth being “born” on January 1, humans have only been around for the last 10 seconds of December 31.

The Grand Canyon was cold, but beautiful. We lucked out with the gorgeous, sunny weather. This was my first visit so I have nothing to compare it to, but I think the snow really enhanced the view. Plus, it was just fun to see snow again. Here are a few of my favorite photos from the trip:

In training news, I did a 2 mile run at the track a few days ago at 10:33 pace, and a 9 mile speed walk yesterday at 13:28 pace. For the walk I set my Garmin to alert me when I was slower than a 14:00 pace. At times it was annoying because it would beep even though I didn’t think my pace had changed at all. But overall it helped push me to keep moving quickly. I’m going to do one more long walk next weekend, then I’m headed up to Baltimore for a week which fits in nicely with tapering before RnR AZ.

I’ll be back to post again tonight or tomorrow to announce the winner of the giveaway.

2 Responses to “DUDE”

  1. RunningLaur Says:

    Congrats on the upcoming move to Baltimore, although I’ll miss you here!

    I’m registered now for both Sedona and Lost Dutchman – prices go up after tomorrow! A coworker and I are going up to Sedona Friday night and staying there for the race Sat morning. I’ve been up several times now, so could help with any planning you’d be doing, or maybe even a carpool!

  2. Mica Says:

    Ooh, a cross-country move, how exciting!

    I’ve never been to the Grand Canyon, it looks like you really had the perfect day to visit it!


Leave a Reply

