Winter Misery One Miler – aka My Return to Running

Last night I did my one mile for RunningLaur’s Winter Misery One Miler virtual race. It was also my first time running in over two months! (The last time I ran was at Rock ‘n’ Roll San Jose on October 4.) At first I started off slow, almost at like a shuffle. It felt very strange to be running again and I could tell that I was using muscles that hadn’t been used in awhile. As I got more comfortable, I picked up the pace a little as you can see by the neat chart below. (Have I mentioned how much I’m loving Garmin Connect?) Despite all the spikiness, there’s a definite downward trend.

I’m not a natural runner, and I’ve never run just for the fun of it or felt the need to just go out for a run. I run as a form of fitness and because my ultimate end goal is to participate in a race (and hopefully earn a medal) and in order to achieve that I have to train properly. I’ve never experienced the “runner’s high” that people talk about…

But yesterday, I think I came pretty darn close. I was happy to actually be running again and I enjoyed the feeling of my feet carrying me along down the street. I don’t know how to explain it. Maybe it was because I knew I was just doing one mile, but there was something about the run that just felt good. There were no “why am I out here again?” or “how much farther do I have to go?” thoughts in my head. In fact, I even thought about doing another mile, but didn’t want to push myself too far too soon.

So thank you RunningLaur for providing the perfect opportunity for me to start running again!

I also did a 1 mile walk before and after the run. Here are my times:

  • Mile 1 walk: 13:53
  • Mile 2 run: 11:28
  • Mile 3 walk: 15:42

I realized it’s really hard to speed walk when I’m by myself. There’s something about the race atmosphere (probably the fact that I don’t want to be dead last) that brings out my competitive spirit and makes me go faster.

The virtual race may have been called the Winter Misery One Miler, but there wasn’t anything miserable about it for me. It was a nice, clear night and about 60°. However, I did bring in the winter aspect by taking some photos of my neighborhood during my walk…

It seems like everyone has these reindeer. My next-door neighbor is the only one who also included Santa though.

I liked this little nativity scene.

I thought this was a creative way to decorate what’s typically just an ugly looking box. I’ve never figured out what these boxes in some people’s front yards are for. Something to do with utility services maybe?

Here’s something you’ll only see in the desert. Are those supposed to be upside-down stockings? Mittens?

And finally, one way to describe how I felt about having a successful return to running.

5 Responses to “Winter Misery One Miler – aka My Return to Running”

  1. RunningLaur Says:

    Yay, so glad you could run the mile! I really like the mittens or whatever on the cactus – you have to be daring to do that one!

  2. RioRuns Says:

    Welcome back to running! I’m glad it was a good experience for you. I’ve seen people put santa hats on the tips of suaguro cacti- very cute.

  3. Mica Says:

    I’m glad that the virtual race was a success for you!

    I love all the Christmas decorations.I always forget that there are cacti where you are.

  4. lindsay Says:

    congrats on your return! 🙂 love the festive decor – i was just thinking i would not want to be the one decorating (or undecorating) the cactus!

  5. BRCC Frozen Finger 5 Miler « Silly Lisa… Says:

    […] one that most closely lived up to the name. (It was warm and sunny for Frosty’s Run and the Winter Misery One Miler was definitely not miserable.) After it snowed here in Baltimore on Thursday night, I thought about […]


Leave a Reply

