A variety of workouts

Even though I haven’t been posting about it, I have been working out lately. On Sunday I took my bike out to Reach 11. Some maintenance was recently done on the trails making them cleaner and smoother, so I was able to do some exploring rather than following my usual out and back route. On Monday I didn’t feel like going out so I played Wii Fit for an hour instead. I really love the step aerobics in Wii Fit. It’s both fun and a good workout. If they made a game just based around the step aerobics, I’d totally buy it.

Yesterday we had a potluck lunch at work and I definitely overindulged with dessert. I had a piece of vanilla cake with strawberry filling, a slice of coconut pie, AND a slice of pumpkin pie. Luckily there was a free 5k fun run at Road Runner Sports last night to help me burn off the calories. I was the only walker, but everyone there was very supportive and I managed to come in not too far behind the last person who was running with her dog. According to my Garmin, I had an average 13:10 pace and the distance was just under 3 miles. The pace was very comfortable and I felt like I could have kept going for at least another mile. I’m getting really good at this whole speed-walking thing!

3 Responses to “A variety of workouts”

  1. RunningLaur Says:

    at 13:10 you are getting really good at speedwalking! You’d be in the running for medals in the walking division for sure, maybe you should dominate that circuit for a bit!

  2. lisa Says:

    I’ve never tried the wii, but my sister and her family have it, so I’m definitely going to try it out when we’re visiting them for Christmas. The fit games look like so much fun and a great alternative to going to the gym or running outside in the snow!

  3. Mica Says:

    I tried to running thing on the Wii once. I tried to go too fast, so my little avatar kept falling on his face. Whoops.

    13:10 for speedwalking? Damn girl! You need to take this up competitively! I speed-walked once, and my butt muscles hurt so badly the next day. I haven’t done it since.


Leave a Reply

