Fuel Up With Chocolate Giveaway

It’s time for another giveaway!

As a little background… Since my lupus flare-up in October/November, I’ve had to cut a lot of foods out of my diet. From a Western medicine point-of-view, none of my doctors have really made any recommendations about what or what not to eat. However, I also see a traditional Chinese medicine doctor occasionally and there are certain foods that from an Eastern medicine standpoint I should either avoid or have only sparingly. It’s hard for me to explain, but some foods are thought to contribute directly to the possibility of another flare-up. In other instances it’s not exactly about lupus, but more about having the right balance of food to keep me healthy.

Unfortunately one of the foods I’m not supposed to eat is chocolate. At first I was very sad, but suprisingly I don’t miss having chocolate that much on a general daily basis. Trader Joe’s has some amazing Butter Waffle Cookies and Ultimate Vanilla Wafers that I’ve been using to get my sugar fix.

On the running/walking side however, it’s been a bit more difficult because all of my favorite fueling and post-workout recovery products are chocolate flavored. I love, love, love the mint chocolate GU. Luckily I’ve found other GU gel flavors that I like, and I can still have the fruity GU chomps. On the other hand it’s actually been harder than I expected to find an energy bar that doesn’t have chocolate or nuts in it. So far I think the only Clif Bar flavor I’ve found is apricot.

Anyway, since I can’t have these yummy chocolate products, I’m going to share them with a lucky winner instead. The giveaway includes everything pictured below, plus a couple other extras that I picked up after I took the photo.

To enter, simply leave a comment naming your favorite fuel product and why. One comment/entry per person.

Edit: After receiving some friendly advice, I’ve decided to include a second entry if you share about this giveaway. It can be through a link on your blog, a Twitter update, an email to a friend, or however else you can think of. Just leave a second comment telling me that you helped spread the word.

All comments must be made by 11:59pm MST on Sunday, December 27.

Note that I’m deliberately not making the request that you follow my blog as a requirement to enter the giveaway because I hate feeling obligated to do so with other contests I’ve seen. Now that I’ve been blogging for awhile and posting more regularly, I feel a good next step is trying to attract more readers. However, I’d rather have people follow me because they’re interested in what I have to say and not just because they want to win something. So if you like what you see and want to keep reading, yay and thank you. And if not, feel free to enter the giveaway anyway, and I’m glad you at least stopped by for a look.

9 Responses to “Fuel Up With Chocolate Giveaway”

  1. christin Says:

    I love to fuel up on dried fruits and nuts…they give you plenty of energy and taste great:) Thanks for the chance!
    christinbanda at yahoo dot com

  2. aron Says:

    i am a gu user for running fuel 🙂 mint choc is my fav!

  3. RunningLaur Says:

    I’ve been looking to try the mint chocolate Gu, it sounds tasty to me. My running partner uses fig newtons in place of granola bars – no chocolate and pretty easy to find.

    PS I love your blog just the way it is 🙂

  4. lindsay Says:

    i’ve been a follower for a little while now 🙂

    i love all things chocolate and gu, with those powers combined – watch out! i’m bad about eating chomps as a snack… and i’m not talking about a mid-run snack. oops.

  5. lisa Says:

    I haven’t tried some of these and would love to.

    This is my first time to your blog (through Tall Mom) and can’t wait to read more!

  6. Paige Says:

    My favorite fuel product is walnut, raisin oatmeal with peanut butter swirled in…delicious…and keeps me running for a long time!

  7. Cheryl F. {The Lucky Ladybug} Says:

    My favorite fuel product is a piece of chocolate or any chocolate candy bar {preferably with nuts} because it’s quick, easy, and satisfying 🙂 *Thanks* for the giveaway!

  8. Erin Says:

    My favorite fuel is Clif Bars, especially the chocolate chip peanut butter. I feel lik I’m eating candy.


Leave a Reply

