Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas – Part 2

(Go to Part 1)

After the Expo, I headed back to the hotel for the rest of the night. In keeping with trying not to tire out my legs, I took the tram from Mandalay Bay to Excalibur. Then I crossed the street over to MGM Grand. I snapped a photo of the lion outside…

And then on my way up to my room, I saw the real thing inside.

I was in the West Wing portion of MGM Grand and the room was very modern with tons of glass and mirrors everywhere. This is what I saw when I first walked in the door. If you look closely on the middle shelf, you’ll see a remote control. When I found it, it took me a few minutes to figure out why there was a remote in the bathroom area. Then I realized…

There’s a tv embedded in the mirror!

Here’s a glimpse of the bed.

After my busy morning, it felt good to climb on the bed and relax for a bit. Another thing I thought was cool is the light switch conveniently built into the side of the bed.

As I waited for the bellman to bring up my luggage, I sorted through the loot that I picked up at the Expo. There was an odd assortment of items, from olive oil and balsamic vinegar to dog treats to mac and cheese. (The box of mac and cheese somehow tore open which is why there’s a bit of a mess.)

I spent some time organizing and laying out my gear for the next morning. Then before I knew it, it was 5:30 and time to head down for dinner at The Grand Wok & Sushi Bar. I liked these cool jellyfish lights.

For dinner I had a bowl of miso soup and an eel roll. The service was good, but the food was just okay. At least it was convenient. The reason for the early dinner was because I was going to see the Cirque Du Soleil show KA at 7pm. It was my first Cirque show and I was really excited.

KA is supposed to tell the story of twins on a journey. While there were a lot of cool aspects to the show, from the acrobatics to the special effects, the story itself was kind of hard for me to follow. I still enjoyed the overall performance, but it’s not a show that I’d see again. After the show, it was time to head to bed and get some rest before my 4am wake-up call!

(Go to Part 3)

4 Responses to “Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas – Part 2”

  1. Mica Says:

    Haha, so all the photos in this and the preceding post basically confirmed that Las Vegas is some kind of MAGICAL WORLD.

    Ugh, a 4am wake-up call? That is brutal.

    You look super-cute with that tower of pillows!

    Also, I got your care package of fueling goodies today! Thanks so much, I was so excited to get a box from the postman!!

  2. RunningLaur Says:

    I’m with Mica, that mirror photo of you is super cute! You’ve made me want to go to Vegas!

  3. Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas – Part 1 « Silly Lisa… Says:

    […] (Go to Part 2) Posted in Race Report. 3 Comments » […]

  4. Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas – Part 3 « Silly Lisa… Says:

    […] Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas – Part 3 December 21, 2009 — Lisa (Go to Part 2) […]


Leave a Reply

