Fabulous (but cold) Las Vegas

As you read this, I’m most likely on my way or already in Las Vegas. Woo-hoo! (I’m finally starting to take advantage of WordPress’s ability to pre-schedule posts to be published.)

I’m really excited to get away for the weekend. Although it probably doesn’t seem like it with all the shopping that I’ve been doing recently, most of the time I’m pretty frugal. But for this trip I decided that I’m going to splurge a little. Partly because I figure I deserve it after being sick, and partly because I realize it’s better to spend a bit extra rather than wear myself out walking everywhere or stressing out over a few dollars.

Some advice for anyone looking to do this race in the future, book your hotel room early! I really wish I could have stayed at Mandalay Bay, especially with the great host hotel rates they were offering. But I think it sold out months ago. The Luxor (located next door) also sold out pretty quickly too. Excalibur would be the next closest hotel, but I’ve read a lot of negative reviews about it. So I ended up choosing MGM Grand which is about a mile away from the start/finish line.

I’m not planning to do too much sightseeing during this trip. The only things on my agenda, other than race stuff, are making a trip over to Paris to hopefully find some yummy French pastries, and seeing the Cirque du Soleil show KA. I’ve never see a Cirque show before and I’ve been wanting to for a long time. I probably wouldn’t have picked KA as my first choice, except for the fact that it’s conveniently located at MGM Grand which means I don’t have to travel far to see it and I can head straight to bed afterward.

The race starts at 6:15 and I have two worries. One is the cold. Right now the forecast for Sunday is a low of 38° and a high of 53°. Over the course of the last week I’ve had to completely rethink my race outfit, hence a lot of the recent purchases of long pants, gloves, and a headband. My other worry is getting back to the hotel in time because check-out is at 11am. I’m crossing my fingers that I can get a late checkout, otherwise I think I’ll probably check-out before I leave for the race and leave my luggage at the bell stand. I can just change in the bathroom later and since I’m only walking, hopefully I won’t be too sweaty and stinky after the race.

Anyway, I’ll leave you now with a couple photos from my very first trip to Las Vegas when I went with my family around Christmas time back in (I think) 2004. I doubt these buildings have changed much since then, but I’ll be finding out soon enough!

Oh yeah, and one more reminder about the giveaway.

Posted in Travel. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Fabulous (but cold) Las Vegas”

  1. Mica Says:

    Good luck!!

    I’ve never been to Las Vegas, but it looks like a magical place.

  2. Tall Mom Says:

    Hope you had a GREAT trip..


Leave a Reply

