In the belly of a whale

This is the third weekend in a row that I’ll be away from Phoenix. First there was Orlando, then San Jose, and now I’m on my way out to Baltimore. This time it’s not for a race, although the Baltimore Running Festival is on Saturday. Unfortunately the half marathon and 5k are both sold out.

I relocated to Phoenix two years ago because of changes within the company I work for. Now they’re asking me to consider another move out to Baltimore. So that’s the purpose behind this trip… to get to know our Baltimore office and the general area.

At first when I found out about the potential relocation, I got really freaked out. I really like Phoenix and I feel a lot more settled in Phoenix than I did in Houston. I just signed another year-long lease on our rental house, purchased an annual gym membership, and have the RnR Las Vegas and Arizona races coming up this winter. (Training for a marathon in snow and cold northeast weather doesn’t sound like my idea of fun.) But as I slowly got used to the idea of moving again, I’m not so opposed to it now. I’m just waiting for the official job description and offer so that I can evaluate whether this is the right opportunity for me or not (and whether it makes sense financially).

Anyway, I’m actually writing at 30,000 feet in the air, although I’ll be posting from my hotel room later. I just so happen to be flying in one of Southwest’s Shamu planes, which I think is kind of neat. Troy and I saw one in the air once, but this is the first time I’ve flown in one. Not that there’s anything different about the flight. I only realized it was a Shamu plane because the overhead bins are painted with SeaWorld logos and pictures of Shamu. I confirmed it with a flight attendent and she’s the one who actually gave me the idea for the post title.

Overhead bins on one of Southwest's "Shamu" planes

The good thing about all this traveling is that I’m very close to finally having earned a free Southwest flight. And at least for this trip, all my expenses are covered by my company. I have my laptop with me this time (obviously) because I have to go into work on Friday and Monday. But I’m looking forward to a fairly relaxing weekend with a lot of reading and hopefully catching up on my race reports.

Posted in Travel. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “In the belly of a whale”

  1. RioRuns Says:

    I’ve always wondered what the inside of the Shamu plane looked like. Good luck on deciding on your job path!

  2. Mica Says:

    Wow, I had no idea that Shamu planes even existed. I want one!

    Maybe you’ll like Baltimore. I’ve always liked visiting it! That said, moving is tough, so I don’t blame you for wanting to stay in Phoenix.


Leave a Reply

