Running in the dark

Friday, September 18 – 4.11 mile run, 11:06 average pace

I headed out to a local park not too far from my house for a change of scenery. It’s been quite a few months since I’ve been there and in the past there were always park lights on after dark. Well, I arrived just at dusk and figured maybe the lights were just taking a little bit to kick on. But no, the lights never turned on that night. Luckily there was enough ambient light that I could still see where I was going. It was a little scary running by myself in the dark, but I had pepper spray with me and the park is right next to a Costco so there’s a decent amount of traffic that goes by.

Part of the reason I picked the park is because it seemed like a good place to do some less structured intervals. One loop around the park is about .59 miles so I did intervals of about .44 miles at a faster pace and then .15 miles of recovery. The lap feature on my Garmin was acting a bit funky so I won’t post all my times on the intervals. But my best interval was .44 miles at a 9:34 pace. I wasn’t trying to run all out, just a little faster than usual, so that’s a pretty good time for me. Of course, I did plan my course strategically so I ran the downhill portion and saved the uphill for my recovery.

Sunday, September 20 – 3 mile run, 11:29 average pace (Saucony)

  • Mile 1 – 12:05
  • Mile 2 – 11:34
  • Mile 3 – 10:48

My tummy was feeling upset so the last mile I was basically just in a rush to get back to my car and head home.

Monday, September 21 – 1 mile warm-up, 2x800s, 2x400s, 1 mile cool-down (Saucony)

Back to the track for a more structured speedwork section. My training plan called for 400s, but I decided to switch it up and try a couple 800s instead. The 800s weren’t as bad as I remember them being. But I guess that probably means I wasn’t working hard enough.

  • 1st 800 – 4:33
  • 2nd 800 – 4:42
  • 1st 400 – 2:06
  • 2nd 400 – 2:07

I’m happy that we’re getting cooler weather here in Phoenix, but it sucks that the sun is also setting sooner. I was surprised I didn’t get kicked off the track on Monday since I basically did my last cool-down mile in the dark. If the park doesn’t start turning on the lights, I’m going to be stuck running laps around the neighborhood for the next few months.

There have been a lot of great running blog giveaways lately. Here are a couple that are still open for entry:

3 Responses to “Running in the dark”

  1. RunningLaur Says:

    I bet the city is saving money by not lighting the park. There are some sections of the canal that are lit – maybe you’re near one of them? I know I have one section that is lit, but I have the feeling it’s because it’s in “Scottsdale” where things have to be fancy.

  2. Lindsay Says:

    I am not a fan of shorter daylight in the evening either. I am too chicken to run in the dark so I will probably be bonding with the treadmill a LOT here soon. Nice job sticking out the intervals in the dark and glad all was safe!

  3. Mel- Tall Mom on the Run Says:

    I wonder if you can call the Parks department and see if they can change the schedule??

    Thanks for the link…


Leave a Reply

