Fall Five Miler

I’m on a roll with posts today! I guess the trick is to keep them short and sweet.

Tuesday, September 22 5 mile run (Saucony)

RunningLaur organized a virtual race for the first day of fall. I was actually planning to do cross and strength training at the gym yesterday, but my wrist and elbow joints were hurting so I adjusted my schedule and went for a run instead. Originally I was only going to do a 5k for the virtual race, but I decided to extend my run and go for the five miles. My goal was to finish in 60 minutes. I was blessed with surprisingly cool weather last night and a nice breeze. The run itself was pretty boring – just me and my iPod doing 3+ laps around the neighborhood. Oh, but I did have a weird encounter. There’s a small greenbelt alongside my neighborhood and I ran past a guy walking his dog. I’m almost certain that as I passed he said “Run Forrest Run”. I get the reference, but I have no idea why he said it.

Anyway…

  • Mile 1 – 11:50
  • Mile 2 – 12:13
  • Mile 3 – 12:11
  • Mile 4 – 11:29
  • Mile 5 – 11:13

 Total time: 58:55. I’m happy I made my goal… yay!

5 Responses to “Fall Five Miler”

  1. Mica Says:

    People are so weird about yelling at runners! Maybe it was his way of encouraging you…?

    Nice job on the Fall Five miler! I believe I see negative splits. 🙂

  2. RioRuns Says:

    I don’t know which is worse, hearing comments like that or getting whistled at when running. Nice job on your race!

  3. RunningLaur Says:

    wooo – 5 miles is so much cooler than the 5k 🙂 I think you’re hardcore.

    It’s getting to be the time of year where I’m surprised by something new every day on the greenbelt / canal. The cooler weather seems to bring out all of the crazy people.

  4. Ashley Says:

    Thanks for the high five! High five back at you 🙂

    Hope the Disney’s Expedition Everest Challenge went well today!

  5. Fall is here « Silly Lisa… Says:

    […] that well prepared for the race. I think the longest run I’ve done since Disneyland was the Fall Five Miler. Oh, wait. Actually there was the I-Did-A-Green-Run 10k. Anyway, my plan for the race is to follow […]


Leave a Reply

