If I could turn back time

I did something stupid last Sunday. I wasn’t feeling well but I went out for my 8 mile long run anyway. Now as I look back I don’t know why I was so bound and determined to get the run in. I should have stopped after the first mile. Or when I looped back to where my car was parked around 5 miles. But instead I had to keep going until I hit 8 miles. Even though I made that goal, I hurt myself enough that I had to take the whole past week off from training. And the Disneyland 1/2 Marathon is only a week away. Good thing I was planning to take it easy for that race anyway. So here are the workouts I’ve done since my last post.

Friday, August 21 – 13.78 mile bike ride in 1:12:08

Saturday, August 22 – a little over 3 mile run
The batteries on my Garmin were low so I went out without it and just did three laps around the neighborhood.

Sunday, August 23  – 8.11 mile run (Adidas)
I used a 5 min run/1 min walk plan again which seems to work well for me.

Hopefully I’ll be back up and running on Monday. That’ll give me a few days to get back in the running groove before we leave for Anaheim. In the meantime, I’m going to try and work on a race report for Chicago this weekend. I really need to do better at getting race reports out in a more timely manner.

3 Responses to “If I could turn back time”

  1. Runninglaur Says:

    Sorry you’re hurt! Be caeful this week, it sounds like you’re playing it smart. Make sure to just have fun at Disney – maybe run with a camera for some good photos!

  2. Mica Says:

    Sorry about the injury! Bummer!! I hope you are up and running soon.

  3. Lindsay Says:

    Sorry to hear about the injury! Sure hope it’s feeling better after some rest. We runners can be quite stubborn about rest (or not) and pushing ourselves too far at times. It’s a delicate line between a good, hard workout and overdoing it, unfortunately. Hope you heal up in time for a pain-free half!


Leave a Reply

