Catching Up

Whew, it’s been awhile since I posted. I made it though my first week and a half of training successfully.

August 12 – 3 mile run, 20 minutes elliptical, strength training
I know I’ve alluded in the past to what’s involved with the Expedition Everest Challenge. The first part is a 5k, the second part is an obstacle course, and the third part is a scavenger hunt. Last year the hardest part for me was the first obstacle which was to climb over a series of three hurdles. I’m short and the hurdles came to chest height. I let my gym membership lapse over the summer, but I decided to sign up again in order to get in shape for whatever obstacles they throw our way this year.

August 13 – 3.08 mile run
My first tempo run! Well, it was actually a modified tempo run that I found online at Runner’s World. I wasn’t sure if I could pick up and hold the pace on my own, so I did my workout on the treadmill at the gym. I started with 10 min at 5mph. Then I did 5 x 3 min at 6mph with a 1 min recovery at 4mph in between. I finished with 5 more min at 5mph.

August 14 – 13.66 mile bike ride in 1:16:46
Spent some time with Troy riding at Reach 11.

August 15 – 3.11 mile run

August 16 – 6.2 mile run (Adidas)
According to my training schedule, this was supposed to be 7 miles. But for some reason I had it stuck in my head that I was supposed to do 6 miles and I didn’t double-check the schedule before I left. Oh, well. I know I could have done 7 miles if I wanted to. Looking ahead, I want to do a marathon but I don’t know if I can run for 26.2 straight miles. So I’ve been thinking about a run/walk plan instead. I’ve taken walk breaks during my long runs, but this time I decided to actually take structured walks. I did 5 min run/1 min walk which resulted in an overall pace of 11:28. The run/walk worked well because that time’s decent compared to what I’ve been doing recently, plus I wasn’t that tired when I finished.

August 18 – 2.95 mile run (Asics)
Another (almost) 5k at Road Runner Sports. I didn’t win anything this time. 😦

August 19 – 3 mile run (Asics), 15 minutes elliptical, strength training
More intervals. 1 mile warm up, then 4 x 400s.

August 20 – 4 mile run (Asics)

A couple days ago I noticed that out of the blue I had a slight bump on the outside of my right foot, sort of where the 5th metatarsal (the pinky toe bone) ends. It wasn’t really bothering me, but I was a little worried because I couldn’t find any information online and didn’t want to accidentally do anything that would cause future injury. Yesterday, I called up a podiatrist who was able to fit me in for an appointment today. After looking at my x-rays, he proclaimed that he didn’t see any indication of a stress fracture and that I was okay to keep running. It’s silly, but I was so glad he said I could keep running that it didn’t dawn on me until after I left that I should have asked what could have caused it. Oops. However I did ask about my ongoing problem with my foot going numb, and he said that it was probably a nerve getting irritated. He suggested I loosen my laces, which I’ve already done. But then he also said to try tucking a small sponge inside my shoe underneath the tongue to help relieve the pressure. That’s a trick I’ve never heard or read before, but it makes sense. Now I just have to go out and get a sponge to cut up and fit into my shoes.

2 Responses to “Catching Up”

  1. Mica Says:

    Nice runs! I hope the run-walking works for you. If it’s really hot/I feel terrible on race day, I’m definitely going to do a structured run-walk thing!

  2. RunningLaur Says:

    I love doing the run/walk thing for training, I think it’s helped me a great deal. Hope to see you at the IDidARun – where I’ll be walk/running for sure.


Leave a Reply

