Negative splits

July 25 – 6.46 mile run, 11:26 pace (Saucony)
A good long run out on the trails at Reach 11. I slept in Saturday morning and went out running at dusk instead.

July 26 – 13.99 mile bike ride in 1:15:48 and .36 mile run
I did a test ride out to where I work and back. When the weather cools down I may try biking to work every once in awhile. Afterward the bike ride I went out on a whim for a short run. I was right, the new Running Room water bottle holder bounces too much while running.

July 27 – 3.32 mile run, 12:59 pace (Asics 6.5)
I exchanged my size 6 Asics for a size 6.5 wide at Road Runner Sports on Sunday. It was super easy to do the exchange. I purposely took it really slow on this run to break in the new shoes. Unfortunately I’m still having the tingly/numb foot problem, but it wasn’t quite as bad as usual.

July 29 – 4.44 mile run, 12:08 pace (Asics 6.5)
I was feeling really strong today. Before RnR Seattle I didn’t feel well prepared. But after tonight’s run I’m ready to go for RnR Chicago. I think for the race I’m going to shoot for an average 10 minute pace and try to finish under 2:11. I even managed negative splits tonight. Yay!

  • Lap 1 – 1.35 miles, 12:57 pace
  • Lap 2 – 1.35 miles, 12: 14 pace
  • Lap 3 – 1.35 miles, 11:44 pace
  • Lap 4 – .38 miles, 10:19 pace

Erica at the blog I Run Because I Can is doing a Fuel Belt giveaway. It would be awesome to win because I need something that holds more water for my long runs. But even if I don’t, I’ll still look into a Fuel Belt as an option because I really like the idea of the removable race pocket. It looks roomy enough for everything I would want to carry, plus it’s nice that I would be able to decide if I want to use it or not.

One Response to “Negative splits”

  1. Mica Says:

    Nice runs! RnR Chicago is soon–how exciting! Glad you’re feeling good about it.


Leave a Reply

