Back in action?

I haven’t posted in a few days because I haven’t been working out. I’ve been sick and needed some rest. It actually started while I was in Schaumburg, but I thought I just felt weird because I was away from home. Then I got home and took my temperature and it turned out I had a fever. Luckily it cleared up after taking Tylenol for a couple days, but I spent most of the long weekend sitting at home playing video games.

Troy and I did get out for a little bit yesterday afternoon. I didn’t feel like exerting myself too much, so we went for a long, slow bike ride and covered both sides of Reach 11. It was hot. Thank goodness for water packs.  It’s nice to know that I can sit on my bike for about two hours straight without much discomfort. On the last bike ride I was feeling a bit like my seat was too low. So yesterday I tried raising it an inch or so and I think it felt better. I’m still having trouble with my overall form on the bike though. I seem to lean too much on my wrists. I’m thinking about getting professionally fit at DNA Cycles. I’ve been hesitant to do it because it’s $75, but it’s starting to seem like it would be worth it.

Today I went out for a short run. I was debating between running laps around the neighborhood or going to the track. In the end I decided to stay close to home which ended up being a good idea. I had to make a quick pit stop after one mile. I guess I was too well hydrated today. My legs were tight so I only did three miles, but at least it was something.

I can’t believe it’s already the end of May. Where did the time go? I’m not feeling very well prepared for the duathlon. So far I’ve only gotten one brick workout in and I was really hoping for more. My bike speed is also slower than I’d like. As I’ve said before, I know I can finish. And I know I’m not going to be placing or anything, so the main goal is to just do my best. But it would be nice to not be last in my age group. Troy and I are driving out to Anaheim this weekend for a baseball game so I’m going to take the opportunity to check out the bike course and see how flat it really is. Then after that it’ll be time to start thinking about what I need for my transitions. I guess one good thing about being a newbie is that I don’t have to worry about switching shoes. I’m just going to bike in my running shoes.

I think I’m even more worried about RnR Seattle than the duathlon. I haven’t really gotten in any long runs since the Havasu Half. And I realized today that RnR Chicago is only about a month after Seattle. It’s time to start planning! If I can just stay healthy, that will definitely help. I’ve got to figure out the right balance between enough and over training.

Leave a Reply

