Short evening run

My typical routine is to work out before dinner, but yesterday I switched things up because a bunch of people from work were going out for happy hour at the Yard House. The restaurant’s big draw is their extensive selection of beer, but the food is pretty good too. And during happy hour most of the appetizers are half off. So I had some yummy crab cakes for only about $7. I stuck to water because I still wanted to go running afterwards, but I’m not a beer drinker anyway.

I got home around 8:30 and geared up for my run. It was just a short run to see how my feet felt with the new metatarsal pads and the slightly modified orthodics. I left my Garmin at home again because I didn’t care about my pace during the run. So I don’t know my exact time or distance, but two loops around the neighborhood is just a tiny bit over two miles. The pads felt a little strange but not in a completely bad way. It’ll just take some time to get used to having something there underneath the middle of my foot. I didn’t have any tingly or numbness issues last night, but I’ll have to go on a longer run to know whether the pads really make a difference or not. Unfortunately the area under my right arch did start to get irritated again toward the end of the run. But that could just be because the previous blister isn’t completely healed yet.

I’m thinking about trying my first “brick” workout tonight. If I do it, I’ll start off easy with a 5 mile bike ride and a 1 mile run. The biggest question is where I want to end the bike ride and start the run… the Reach 11 trails? the track? home? I’m thinking Reach 11 because at least there’s a little shade on the trail. Hopefully I can convince Troy to come with me and watch my bike while I run.

Leave a Reply

