Another update

Yeah, I’m not so good at coming up with interesting post titles…

I actually did wake up feeling pretty fantastic on Saturday morning. Instead of dragging myself painfully out of bed like the last few days, I channelled Tigger and bounced out of bed, ready to start my day. I think it was the combination of my new medication and getting a couple extra hours of sleep that did it.

I lounged around most of the day yesterday (Saturday) except for another trip to REI in the afternoon. After dinner, I asked Troy what he thought about me doing the race this morning (Sunday). He said, why don’t you take a quick run outside to see how you feel? So that’s what I did. I went for a one mile jog around the neighborhood. I didn’t bring my Garmin so I don’t know my pace but it felt good to be running again. I’ll write up a little more about the race later, but yes I did go to the race this morning. I took it easy and even took a few walk breaks during the race.

I know it probably seems like I’m bouncing back really quickly when just a couple days ago I was complaining about all my aches and pains. So I guess I just want to explain that I don’t have a very severe form of lupus. This was the first major flare up that I can remember in the five years since I was diagnosed. I’m pretty lucky because I know there are other people out there who have to deal with lupus on a more frequent basis. Unfortunately it’s impossible to tell exactly what caused the flare up. I did some research online and a couple possible causes might have been too much sun or not enough rest. I kind of brushed it off when the doctor mentioned a few weeks ago to stay out of the sun, but now I know to take the warning more seriously. I also need to try harder to get my full eight hours of sleep every night.

Posted in Health. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Another update”

  1. Mica Says:

    Glad you’re feeling better! I’m crossing for my fingers for no more flare-ups!


Leave a Reply

