Update

I heard back from my rheumatologist’s office this morning. It turns out that my recent labwork showed signs that my lupus is flaring up. So that’s the likely culprit behind a lot of my aches and pains. I’m about to head out and pick up a couple prescriptions that should help me. I also made an appointment with my family doctor for next Tuesday. I made the appointment before I heard back from my rheumatologist, but I figure I’ll keep the appointment anyway. Even if the prescriptions help me, I can still go in and talk to my family doctor about the metatarsalgia and make sure that it’s okay for me to start training again.

I had been thinking about doing a 5k at the Phoenix Zoo tomorrow. The initial attraction was being able to run inside the zoo. But even before this lupus flare-up, I had pretty much decided against it. After going with Troy after the Run for the Cheetah, the zoo doesn’t interest me as much anymore. I enjoyed it, but visiting once a year is enough.

I really wish I could do the Arizona Road Racers Rio Vista Luck of the Draw 8k on Sunday. The door prizes intrigue me. From the website:

“Each finisher will receive a playing card when they finish the race. Door prizes will be given away based on the card selected. If more than one person has the same card, then another card will be selected from a different deck of cards. High card wins!”

The current list of door prizes is all food, with plenty of places I like or would like to try. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that they’re giving out participant medals too. And race day registration is only $25. I haven’t completely ruled out going, but unfortunately the chances are slim unless I wake up feeling incredible tomorrow. Oh, well. I guess there’s always next year.

One Response to “Update”

  1. Mica Says:

    Wow, I didn’t know you had lupus. Sorry about the recent complications. I hope the aches and pains clear up soon!


Leave a Reply

