Health

Visit to the Doctor

I was diagnosed with lupus in 2003. The past few years I haven’t had any symptoms so I just see a rheumatologist every 4-6 months for a check-up. I had an appointment this morning and mentioned to the doctor that a month ago I had a rash on my nose, but it might have just been a sunburn. He said that using sunscreen is good, but I really should be avoiding the sun as much as possible. (Um… we live in the desert and get over 300 days of sun a year.) I kind of already knew I wasn’t supposed to be spending a lot of time out in the sun but sort of disregarded it. It’s not like I’m lounging at the pool all summer. But now I’m wondering if I should move my weekend long runs from the afternoon to the evening. I’ll think about it.

I almost feel like maybe it’s time to switch doctors, but I don’t quite know how to find someone else. What I need is a doctor who understands my history with lupus as well as my current needs as a runner. Also, it would be nice if this theoretical doctor actually took the time to talk to me instead of making me feel like he’s rushing to get to his next appointment. Maybe what I’m actually looking for is a coach or personal trainer… I don’t know…

Leave a comment