Energy gels and chews

Everyone once in awhile I read about how some people can’t tolerate certain types of energy products and I think to myself how lucky I am that I don’t seem to have that problem. At least not yet. So far I’ve tried the mint chocolate GU (my favorite), a chocolate Accel Gel, and a vanilla Clif Shot. All of them were good, and I don’t find them that difficult to ingest. This is probably my sweet tooth talking, but I could see myself having a mint chocolate GU just for the heck of it if I wanted some dessert and had nothing else in the house. One of these days I’ll have to stop by REI and pick up a fruity GU, just to see what those are like. On the other hand, it seems like energy chews are almost always fruity flavors. I like the Luna Sport Moons (pomegranate) just a little better than the Sharkies (fruit splash), but both were good. For awhile I was leaning towards the energy chews instead of gels, because during my first experience using gel at a race the brown GU was a little messy. But now that I have the hang of it, I like gels better. The gummy energy chews stick to my teeth too much.

Leave a Reply

