Six Seconds

I’ve been following a lot of running blogs lately. Since I run by myself, it’s fun reading about other runners and occasionally I learn something new, like about nutrition or training or gear. One blog that I really like is by RunningLaur who also lives somewhere here in the Valley. A few days ago, she wrote a post that touched on how weight affects running speed.

“They” say that every pound of weight adds ~6 seconds to your minute split – thus a 10 pound weight loss can help to take a minute off your mile.

I think I mentioned before that it seems like I’ve been running more slowly this year compared to last. Although really, I don’t have anything to base it on other than my 5k times from last summer. I didn’t start running with my Garmin until December. Sometimes I actually think that I ran better without the Garmin since I so concerned about time but just trying to do my best. Lately I’ve been trying not to look at my pace while running and instead just glance at the Garmin occasionally to check distance.

Anyway, so I’ve attributed my relative slowness mainly to lack of consistent training. Ever since I fell and scraped up my knee during the Cactus ChaCha, it’s just been one thing after another. (Although I am happy that my foot feels back to normal today. Just to be safe, I’m planning to wait until Saturday for my next run and I’ll be wearing my new cushioned Balega socks.) But now I’m starting to wonder if I’m also a little slower because I gained weight.

Over the summer I was really trying to eat smaller portions. That, along with working out almost daily, helped me bring my weight down to about 105. I was at my skinniest in September/October. But since then I think I’ve been eating more and working out less. I’d guess that I’m probably 115 now. My ultimate goal weight is 100, but I’m beginning to doubt I’ll ever get there. At least without making drastic changes to my diet which I’m not willing to do.

So what’s the point of all this rambling? I don’t really know. It would be nice to be speedier, but I still wouldn’t be fast enough to compete seriously for any awards. And I like my sweets too much to give them up. For now, I’m going to try weighing myself with Wii Fit again on a regular basis. I don’t know if it’ll be daily or weekly, but maybe just knowing the numbers will help me figure out what’s next.

Leave a Reply

