What’s Next?

Well, now that I’ve achieved a new half marathon PR at a race I only decided to run about three weeks ago… what’s next?

Speed Work
I’m going to do my best to keep attending the Arizona Road Racers’ Tuesday night track workouts. (Well, except for today since I’m still recovering from the weekend.) It’s good for me to have more structured workouts that push me to my limits.

Local Races
I think I’m going to start running more short distance local races. I know last time I planned out a race schedule I never ended up running any of them. But this time I really mean it. I’m already registered for the Fireside at Norterra Adventure Run. And I’m about 90% sure I’m going to do the Run For the Cheetah 5k which is the day before. If I go, it will mark my one year anniversary as a runner. Then there’s the Arizona Road Racers’ Summer Series starting soon… as a member the fee is only $20 for five races. (Actually four for me, since I’ll be out of town for race number three.)

Non-Local Races… and More Medals
Of course there’s the Rock ‘n’ Roll Seattle Half in June and the Disneyland 5k and Half in September. But I’m also thinking about doing the new inaugural Rock ‘n’ Roll races in Chicago (August) and Las Vegas (December). We’ll see…

More PRs
With regular track workouts, I’m hoping to set new PRs for the 5k and 10k. My new goal for the half marathon is to finish under two hours. I don’t know if I’ll get there this year, but I think it’s possible some day.

Marathon
I’m pretty sure I’m going to run my first marathon at Walt Disney World in January, even though I haven’t registered or started planning yet. Now that I feel reasonably comfortable at the half marathon distance, the marathon seems to be the next logical step. I could probably do a marathon before then, but I like the idea of my first marathon being a Disney race. I missed that opportunity with the half. Plus I can defer my training for the marathon until after the Disneyland Half in September so I don’t have to do 20-mile long training runs in the middle of the summer.

Duathlon
When Troy and I started talking about getting bikes, the idea of doing a triathlon came up. But even though I passed my Cornell swim test, I’m definitely not a swimmer. So then I started looking at duathlons which are typically run, bike, run. There’s actually a duathlon coming up in Tempe this month that I know I could finish if I tried. But instead I’m going to save the $100+ registration fee and wait until June, because there just happens to be a duathlon at Disneyland on June 14. It’s not Disney sponsored, but it’ll still be fun… another Disney first!

Leave a Reply

