More races and… a new bike!

I signed up for three more races on Wednesday night. I was already planning on the Disneyland 1/2 Marathon… it’s only 4-5 hours away from Phoenix, and I can get the cool Coast to Coast medal for doing both the Princess 1/2 and the Disneyland 1/2 in the same year. Of course I also signed up for the Disneyland 5k too. While I was registering online, I discovered a neat trick. The active.com website actually allows you to apply more than one discount code to the same race. I’m guessing this is a bug rather than intentional, but I was just happy to earn back a portion of the fees that I’ve paid to active.com over the past year.

The third race was the Fireside at Norterra Adventure Run. I’ve been having a hard time commiting to local races lately, but this is one I really, really want to do. It’s not a typical race following a set course. Instead they give you a map and you have to run to the five points shown on the map to collect different colored marks. Part of the adventure is finding the quickest route to get from point to point. I’m somewhat familiar with the area where the race is being held because I looked at a rental house out there last fall. But I may go scout out the area closer to the race since the map is already posted with the locations of four of the points… the fifth is a secret until race day.

In other news, I bought a new bike! Troy has been talking about getting a new bike for awhile. He (mostly jokingly) complains about how I’m never home so we thought he could ride along with me when I go out for my long runs. We finally got his bike last week. With all the talk about bikes, I started wanting one too. Originally I was going to wait another month or two, but seeing Troy’s bike made me so jealous that I decided not to wait any longer.

The timing was almost perfect because DNA Cycles (the place where Troy got his bike) was having a Ladies Night yesterday. (We decided it must not have been well advertised because I was about their only customer, other than a guy who came in for new shoes.) We had already pretty much decided which bike to buy, but I still wanted to take a test ride just to make sure the size was right. I can’t even remember the last time I rode a bike. Sometime in middle school probably. I had a lot of trouble keeping my balance at first, but after a few minutes I got the hang of it.

My new bike is a 13″ Mika HT in Gloss Candy Apple Red/Silver from Specialized. It’s slightly different from the one I test rode because I went with the cheapest model. Unfortunately that meant they had to special order it so I won’t actually have my bike until next week. But I did come home with a new helmet and gloves since they were offering 25% off all Specialized women’s accessories for the Ladies Night event. Apparently discounts are rare so I ended up with a great deal, especially on the helmet which is $100 regular price.

We were at DNA Cycles for so long that I didn’t have a chance to get a run in last night. So now the plan is to run tonight and Sunday, and try to cross-train at the gym on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

