Fanatical or just plain crazy?

Guess what I’m doing tonight? I’m heading down to Yuma, AZ for the Yuma Territorial Half Marathon tomorrow morning!!!

I saw the event posted on a local race calendar and for some reason I really wanted to do it. I tried to talk myself out of it because Yuma is a three-hour drive. But on the other hand it’s an inaugural event, I get another medal, and I get to see more of Arizona before I leave. (Although I’m not sure what there is to see in Yuma… I should probably look into that before I leave.)

What finally pushed me over the edge though was deciding to do The Sedona Half Marathon with RunningLaur. I realized that with Rock ‘n’ Roll AZ, Sedona, and two races in between, I could jump up to Jupiter status in the Half Fanatics.

So here’s what my next three Saturdays look like:

I may even add one more event to the schedule on 2/14, but I’m not sure yet because it doesn’t do anything to advance me beyond Jupiter. By then I may be burnt out and tired of halves. At least I have plenty of time to decide because there are two races to choose from that day on opposite sides of the Valley.

The plan for tomorrow is to take it nice and easy. I’m going to do a combination of running and walking and the only goal is to finish. Right now weather.com is reporting 0% change of precipitation and I hope it stays that way!

3 Responses to “Fanatical or just plain crazy?”

  1. RioRuns Says:

    That’s a lotta HMs! Have fun tomorrow! I didn’t know they had a half marathon there, but Yuma is known for its USMC base (my father was stationed there in the early 70s). The historical Yuma Territorial Prison had been a tourist spot for several years- not sure if its still open due to budget cuts, though.

  2. RunningLaur Says:

    Fanatical! Have a great time, there should be some nice desert scenery there.

    And if you do add a half on Valentine’s day, I recommend Lost Dutchman, since Rio and I will be there!

  3. Adam Says:

    That is so awesome!! The medal alone would totally be worth it!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

